OpenAI — GPT-5.6 Luna
What OpenAI has published for GPT-5.6 Luna under Article 53, and when we last looked. Every row links to the page the value was read from.
Released 2026-07-09, after the 2 August 2025 cutoff, so the Article 53 obligation applied from release.
| Provider | OpenAI | source · checked 2026-08-13 · human-verified |
|---|---|---|
| GPAI provider | Yes | GPT-5.6 Luna is not a modification or a fine-tune of a prior model. source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| Model released | 2026-07-09 | Date of placement of the model on the Union market: 9 July 2026 source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| Training data summary | Published | In accordance with our obligations under Article 53(1)(d) of the EU AI Act, OpenAI publishes summaries about the content used to train our general-purpose AI models source · checked 2026-08-13 · human-verified |
| Summary URL | Open PDF cdn.openai.com | source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| Follows Commission template | Yes | 1.1. Provider identification ... 1.2. Model identification ... Date of placement of the model on the Union market source · checked 2026-08-14 · human-verified |
| Copyright policy | Published | OpenAI takes steps to identify and apply relevant rights-reservation and opt-out signals, including robots.txt signals for GPTBot source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| Code of Practice | Not stated | source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| AI Act statement | Open document help.openai.com | This article sets out helpful information on our compliance with the EU AI Act. source · checked 2026-08-13 · human-verified |
| Model documentation | Not stated | source · checked 2026-08-14 |
| Incident contact | Not stated | source · checked 2026-08-14 |
What we could not read
2 sources for this model could not be read on the last check. Any blank above may be a limit of our monitoring rather than a fact about the provider.
- https://cdn.openai.com/pdf/gpt-5-6-luna-eu-ai-act-public-summary-of-training-content.pdf Could not be read
- https://help.openai.com/en/articles/12141645-eu-ai-act Could not be read
We do not disguise this checker as a browser to get past a block. This register publishes claims about the companies whose access controls it would be circumventing, so a refused source goes to manual review instead — which is slower, and occasionally leaves a cell empty that a person could fill. If you can see a document for this model that we cannot, send it to hello@trainedon.org and it will be recorded with your source.
If you are building on this model
Using a general-purpose model inside your own product generally makes you a downstream provider with obligations of your own — and those do not transfer from the model's provider. This is what the register could find of the material you would normally gather, and what to request where it could not. 2 of 5 available publicly for this model.
- Training-data summary Found
Article 53(1)(d) — the public summary of training content.
- Copyright policy Found
Article 53(1)(c) — the policy for complying with EU copyright law.
- Documentation for downstream providers Not found here
Article 53(1)(b) — the information you need to meet your own obligations.
Request the Annex XII information package. This is the one you most likely need in writing.
- A stated systemic-risk position Not found here
Article 55 — changes what is expected of the model and what you should ask about.
Ask whether the provider has notified the Commission under Article 52. No provider on this register states a position publicly.
- A contact for incidents Not found here
Somewhere to report a serious incident you observe in production.
Establish a named contact before deployment, not after an incident.
Availability, not compliance. A blank means this register did not find the document at the sources it monitors — which may be a gap in our monitoring rather than a fact about the provider. Whether any obligation applies, and to whom, is a legal question this register does not answer.
Other OpenAI models on the register
Disclosure is recorded per model, not per company — the same provider often publishes for one and not another.
- OpenAI — GPT-5.2 Summary published
- OpenAI — GPT-5.4 nano Summary published
- OpenAI — GPT-5.5 Summary published
- OpenAI — GPT-5 No summary found
- OpenAI — ChatGPT Images 2.0 Summary published
- OpenAI — gpt-oss-120b No summary found
- OpenAI — Sora 2 No summary found
Source documents archived
We keep a dated copy of every source page, captured whenever its content changes. 1 document is held for this model, watched since .
- https://cdn.openai.com/pdf/gpt-5-6-luna-eu-ai-act-public-summary-of-training-content.pdf first copy taken
Vendor pages are edited in place and are not reliably captured elsewhere, so a claim made today cannot otherwise be checked against the page as it stood. Ask for a copy at hello@trainedon.org.
Cite this entry
Every claim here is dated on purpose. Please keep the date attached.
Trained On, "OpenAI — GPT-5.6 Luna", GPAI transparency register, checked 2026-08-24. https://trainedon.org/gpt-5-6-luna/
Think this is wrong or out of date? Send us the URL — corrections are applied within a week and the change is recorded in the change log.